Whoopsy Daisy Forum
Bienvenue sur Whoopsy Daisy, le forum des amoureux de la littérature et de la culture anglaise ! Pour profiter pleinement de notre forum, nous vous conseillons de vous identifier si vous êtes déjà membre. Et surtout n'hésitez pas à nous rejoindre si vous ne l'êtes pas encore !
Whoopsy Daisy Forum
Bienvenue sur Whoopsy Daisy, le forum des amoureux de la littérature et de la culture anglaise ! Pour profiter pleinement de notre forum, nous vous conseillons de vous identifier si vous êtes déjà membre. Et surtout n'hésitez pas à nous rejoindre si vous ne l'êtes pas encore !


Forum des amoureux de la littérature et de la culture anglaise
 
AccueilRechercherS'enregistrerConnexion
Bienvenue sur Whoopsy Daisy

Whoopsy Daisy n'est pas un blog, mais un forum participatif: participez !
Le Deal du moment : -43%
PHILIPS – Machine à café dosette ...
Voir le deal
39.99 €

 

 The Genius of Jane Austen : Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne

Aller en bas 
2 participants
AuteurMessage
Emjy
Bookworm
Emjy



The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Empty
MessageSujet: The Genius of Jane Austen : Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne   The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Icon_minitimeMar 27 Déc - 20:17

Cet essai sur les adaptations théâtrales, télévisuelles et cinématographiques des romans de Jane Austen sort en juin 2017. C'est un sujet qui me passionne alors je le lirai sûrement !
En plus, il fera référence à une adaptation méconnue mais géniale (la pièce d'A.A Milne, l'auteur de Winnie l'ourson) et aux plus récentes adaptations (Love & Friendship notamment).

The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne 9780008225650

Citation :
Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne's debut book includes new material that explores the history of Austen stage adaptations, why her books work so well on screen, and what that reveals about one of the world's most beloved authors.
Originally published by Bloomsbury Academic in 2003 as Jane Austen and the Theatre, Paula Byrne's first book was never made widely available in the US and is out of print today. An exploration of Austen's passion for the stage—she acted in amateur productions, frequently attended the theatre, and even scripted several early works in play form—it took a nuanced look at how powerfully her stories were influenced by theatrical comedy.

This updated edition features an introduction and a brand new chapter that delves into the long and lucrative history of Austen adaptations. The film world's love affair with Austen spans decades, from A.A. Milne's "Elizabeth Bennet," performed over the radio in 1944 to raise morale, to this year's Love and Friendship. Austen's work has proven so abidingly popular that these movies are more easily identifiable by lead actor than by title: the Emma Thompson Sense and Sensibility, the Carey Mulligan Northanger Abbey, the Laurence Olivier Pride and Prejudice. Byrne even takes a captivating detour into a multitude of successful spin-offs, including the phenomenally brilliant Clueless. And along the way, she overturns the notion of Jane Austen as a genteel, prim country mouse, demonstrating that Jane's enduring popularity in film, TV, and theater points to a woman of wild comedy and outrageous behavior.
For lovers of everything Jane Austen, as well as for a new generation discovering her for the first time, The Comic Muse demonstrates why this beloved author still resonates with readers and movie audiences today.

_________________
The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Ban13


Dernière édition par Emjy le Lun 30 Avr - 19:14, édité 1 fois
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Mlle Alice
gothic novel reader
Mlle Alice



The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Empty
MessageSujet: Re: The Genius of Jane Austen : Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne   The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Icon_minitimeMer 28 Déc - 21:21

En effet, il a l'air bien sympathique, je le note tout de suite dans ma wishlist. D'autant qu'ayant enfin exterminée ma PAL générale, j'espère consacrée au moins la moitié de mes lecture 2017 à Jane Austen. C'est l'année ou jamais.
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Emjy
Bookworm
Emjy



The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Empty
MessageSujet: Re: The Genius of Jane Austen : Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne   The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Icon_minitimeJeu 29 Déc - 11:40

Oui, cet ouvrage à l'air tout à fait intéressant. Il me semble que l'auteur a déjà écrit une (ou plusieurs scratch ) biographies de Jane Austen mais je ne m'y suis jamais penchée.

Le livre fera 288 pages.

_________________
The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Ban13
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Emjy
Bookworm
Emjy



The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Empty
MessageSujet: Re: The Genius of Jane Austen : Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne   The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Icon_minitimeLun 30 Avr - 19:16

Le livre sort en poche le 12 juillet :

The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne 9780008225698

J'aime beaucoup la couv', allez hop dans ma wishlist !

_________________
The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Ban13
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Contenu sponsorisé





The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Empty
MessageSujet: Re: The Genius of Jane Austen : Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne   The Genius of Jane Austen :  Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne Icon_minitime

Revenir en haut Aller en bas
 
The Genius of Jane Austen : Her Love of Theatre and Why She is a Hit in Hollywood de Paula Byrne
Revenir en haut 
Page 1 sur 1

Permission de ce forum:Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
Whoopsy Daisy Forum :: Keep calm and fake a British accent :: Jane Austen :: Oeuvres dérivées-
Sauter vers: